When you open Access and Roles you'll see a matrix of standard chat participants. These can be used or deleted.
You simply need to decide who can chat with who and slide the toggle to reflect this permission.
Please Note: All users will still see each other in the recipient drop down but only those who have permission to chat with others will be able to tap through to the messaging option.
Need to add another role? Learn how to do it here